Delta and United now sell a stripped-down fare in their premium cabins, and JetBlue has named one for BlueFirst. Delta calls its version Basic Business in Delta One, Delta First Basic and Delta Premium Select Basic. United calls it Base in United Polaris and United Premium Plus. In Delta's and United's versions, the seat and the onboard service stay the same. What goes is everything around the seat: picking your seat in advance, free changes and, on some fares, part of the miles or the lounge.
I read each airline's own fare pages and announcements on October 8, 2026, and the table below uses each airline's wording. This guide covers premium cabins only (business, first and premium economy), so extra-legroom economy fares like Delta Comfort Basic and JetBlue's EvenMore Base aren't in it.
Basic Premium Fares Compared
| Airline and fare | Seat selection | Changes and cancellations | Lounge | Miles or points |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delta One: Basic Business | "Seat(s) assigned after check-in" | "Changes allowed for a fee"; cancel for "Partial eCredit eligible (minus cancellation fees)" | Delta One check-in and Delta One Lounge "not included for travel on/after January 19th, 2027" | 2 miles per $1 for general SkyMiles members (Classic earns 5, Extra 7) |
| Delta First: Delta First Basic | "Seat(s) assigned after check-in" | "Changes allowed for a fee"; partial eCredit, minus cancellation fees | Sky Club access "Permitted with credentials" on all three fares | 2 miles per $1 (Classic 5, Extra 7) |
| Delta Premium Select: Delta Premium Select Basic | "Seat(s) assigned after check-in" | "Changes allowed for a fee"; partial eCredit, minus cancellation fees | Sky Club access "Permitted with credentials" on all three fares | 2 miles per $1 (Classic 5, Extra 7) |
| United Polaris: Base | "For a fee" | No flight changes; "Non-refundable" | United Club included; United Polaris lounge not included | Not stated in United's fare chart |
| United Premium Plus: Base | "For a fee" | No flight changes; "Non-refundable" | United's Premium Plus chart covers seat selection, bags, changes, upgrades and refunds | Not stated in United's fare chart |
| JetBlue BlueFirst: BlueFirst Base | "Seat selection is not included with Base fares," per JetBlue's July 27, 2026 announcement | Cancellations receive travel credit, "less any applicable fee," per the same announcement | "BlueFirst Base benefits may vary" (BlueFirst page) | "BlueFirst Base benefits may vary" (BlueFirst page) |
Delta: Basic, Classic and Extra in Every Cabin
Delta now sells three "Travel Experiences" in each cabin: Basic, Classic and Extra. Delta's own summary of Basic is that it "offers lower fares with limited flexibility" and suits "travelers with firm plans who aren't concerned with benefits like seat selection, same-day changes or upgrades." That last word matters. If you book premium cabins because your status gets you upgraded the rest of the time, Basic tells you up front it isn't built for that.
Here's what each Basic fare loses next to Classic, per Delta's comparison tables:
- Seat selection. Classic and Extra let you pick before the flight. Basic gets "Seat(s) assigned after check-in." If you're traveling as a couple in Delta One, that's the line to read twice.
- Same-day changes. Classic gets free Same-Day Standby and Extra gets free Same-Day Confirmed. Delta's footnote says "Basic experiences are not eligible."
- Miles. General SkyMiles members earn 2 miles per $1 on Basic, against 5 on Classic and 7 on Extra. With status, Basic still earns the least: Delta's chart shows a Diamond Medallion earning 8 miles per $1 on Basic, 11 on Classic and 13 on Extra.
- Cancellation value. Basic is "Partial eCredit eligible (minus cancellation fees)." Classic is eCredit eligible, and Extra refunds to your original form of payment.
Delta One is where Basic costs the most. Basic Business keeps the lie-flat seat, Sky Priority and Zone 1 boarding, but Delta's page says Delta One check-in and Delta One Lounge access are "not included for travel on/after January 19th, 2027." The same page's introduction also marks Delta Sky Clubs "(excludes Basic Business)" without a date. In Delta First and Premium Select, the Sky Club row reads "Permitted with credentials" on all three fares, so the fare you pick doesn't change Sky Club access there.
Say you're looking at a Delta One ticket where the mileage-eligible fare is $4,000. Basic would earn a general member 8,000 miles; Classic would earn 20,000. That 12,000-mile difference belongs next to the price difference when you compare the two fares.
United: Base in Polaris and Premium Plus
United's April 3, 2026 announcement added Base to United Polaris and United Premium Plus on long-haul international, transcontinental U.S. and select Hawaii flights. United's Polaris chart says "No matter which tier you select, your fare will include the same elevated onboard experience of United Polaris," and its Premium Plus chart promises "all the extra space and comfort of United Premium Plus." Base is what you give up around it:
- Seat selection is "For a fee" instead of included.
- One checked bag instead of the two that Standard and Flexible include.
- No flight changes, and the ticket is "Non-refundable." Standard gets travel credit; Flexible is fully refundable.
- No upgrade: Base reads "Not available," while Standard and Flexible can upgrade (to United Polaris Studio for a fee in Polaris, or "with money, miles or PlusPoints" in Premium Plus).
- The Polaris lounge. In Polaris, Base still includes the United Club, but the United Polaris lounge is for Standard and Flexible.
United's charts don't say anything about miles earned on Base, so I'm not putting a number on it.
JetBlue: BlueFirst Base, Details to Come
JetBlue's BlueFirst page lists no change or cancel fees and two free checked bags for BlueFirst and BlueFirst Flex, then adds: "BlueFirst Base benefits may vary." JetBlue's July 27, 2026 announcement names BlueFirst Base among its Base fares and says "Seat selection is not included with Base fares" and that cancellations receive travel credit, less any applicable fee. BlueFirst itself arrives later this year, and the same announcement says "Base fares are not available in Mint." Our guide to JetBlue's fares covers the Main and EvenMore versions in full.
When I'd Book the Basic Fare
I'd book Basic or Base when three things are true: my plans are fixed, I don't care which seat I land in, and the price gap is bigger than what I'm giving up. On Delta One, I'd add a fourth: check the travel date, because Delta's page takes the Delta One Lounge off Basic Business for travel on or after January 19, 2027. On United Polaris, I'd only take Base if the United Club is enough for me.
I'd skip it when I'm counting on an upgrade, flying with someone I want to sit next to, or chasing miles toward status. And if you mostly fly economy, our basic economy guide covers the cheaper cousin of these fares. Check the fare row on the booking page before you pay, since that's where each airline prints the rules for your exact flight.